Best ever chocolate cake: why did I mess with it???

Update: Nairn over at Random Eats just made my cake! As an introduction I think I can do no better than to copy-paste the e-mail I sent to him:

Dear Nairn, this is my favourite recipe.

Why you may ask. Is it because you only have to wash up one bowl and a cake pan at the end? Well yes that´s true, but no. Is it because the microwave does half the work for you? True, but no. Is it because it is unutterably delicious? Well again yes, but no. The reason why I love this recipe is because it makes people think I am better at cooking than I really am. When you bring it along to someone´s party and stick it on the end of the buffet people always start exclaiming

“WHO bought that cake? I MUST have the recipe!!! “

If it´s just some random person I then usually give them A recipe, but not THE recipe. If you´re a mate, or one of the 5 people who reads my blog then OK, you can have the recipe.

Last weekend I decided to give it another go. I mixed up a batch, chucking in a jar of pinenuts that needed using up, and settled down to watch a video of Trish Deseine demonstrating the recipe. Halfway through she says that she once forgot to put the fifth egg in and mixed it into the half-baked batter. Needless to say, I too had forgotten it. And I can vouch for Trish that yes, this cake is so affable and so forgiving that it really doesn´t mind if you pull it out of the oven and stir in the forgotten egg. It still comes out with that unctuous mouthfeel, almost mousse like, and so, so rich.  The pine nuts however are just a rude interruption to the smooth dense chocolatiness, an unwanted interloper – leave them out!

Gâteau au chocolat fondant de Nathalie by Trish Deseine from I Want Chocolate

Makes an  8-10 inch round cake

60 g pine nuts

200 g butter

200 g high quality dark chocolate (70% or 80 % cacao; I like Lindt)

200 g sugar (the original recipe by Trish Deseine calls for 250 gm, but I prefer 200 gm)

4 5! eggs

1 tablespoon of flour (cornflour also works well for the gluten intolerant)

Preheat the oven to 190 degrees Celsius. Grease the sides of an 8-10 inch round baking pan (or use a silicon one) and scatter the pine nuts over the base of the pan.  Chop the chocolate and butter into pieces and heat until melted,  use the microwave if you have one.  Stir the sugar in and allow the mixture to cool a little before adding the eggs (you don’t  want scrambled eggs!). Add the eggs, one after another, always mixing well after each one, don´t worry if starts to look curdled it will all come together in the end. Finally, mix in the  flour. Pour the mixture into the baking pan and put it in the oven for about 20-25 minutes. Don’t do the toothpick test to see if the inside is finished,  it can jiggle a little when it comes out of the oven. The sides should be cooked and the centre oozing; that’s what gives it the melt in your mouth taste.

Let it cool and enjoy!

Comments
3 Responses to “Best ever chocolate cake: why did I mess with it???”
  1. Walter says:

    Everyone who has ever tried this cake had his second bite with eyes closed. They all love it. The most easy and delicious chocolate ever. Thanks for handing the recipe to us a long time ago. We never bothered looking for another recipe. Walter serves it in the restaurant he works and sells t a lot!!!!
    We will try one of your other recipes on the weekend. Great Blog W, A , L

  2. Nairn says:

    What can I say? This is by far the best chocolate cake I have ever made, everyone at work liked it too!

    Thank you again for sending it to me and I look forward to any other suggestions you may have 🙂

    Cheers,

    Nairn

  3. masked food lover says:

    I finally had he occasion to make this cake by myself !!! Only problem it was for a friend to bring at her work … So i couldn’t try it !! Pure torture … But feedback came this morning and they LOVED IT ! I’m thinking of making an other one just for me …. Fantastic and simple recipe !! Thank you !!!

Leave a Reply

